Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Quick Guide: Abortion in New Hampshire

Posted: 07/07/2022
Open to the public Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Free access to Westlaw, Lexis Advance, and HeinOnline
A to Z Database List / NHLL Blog

Abortion in New Hampshire

Abortions are legal in New Hampshire up to 24 weeks in most cases (See RSA 329:44, II). This limitation does not apply if the life of the pregnant person is endangered (See RSA 329:44, III).

A parent or guardian of a person under the age of 18 (See RSA 132:32, VI) must be notified at least 48 hours before any abortion is performed (see RSA 132:33).

New Hampshire Statutes

National Resources

For Further Information ...

Please remember that this guide is for information purposes only and is not comprehensive.  
It is intended as a starting point for research, to illustrate the various sources of the law, and to provide guidance in their use. 
NH Law About ... is not a substitute for the services of an attorney.