NH Law About ...: Consumer Debt Collection Exemptions: Read About The Law ...

ASK A LIBRARIAN / PHONE: 603-271-3777 / WEBSITE
SEARCH THE CATALOG / HOW TO BORROW

Open to the public Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
A to Z Database List / NHLL Blog

Read About The Law ...

State and Federal Resources

New Hampshire Practice and Procedure Handbook by New Hampshire Bar Association
Call Number: KFN1730 .N3 2022
Publication Date: 2022
"New Hampshire law recognizes that it would not benefit society if a creditor could dispossess a debtor of all worldly belongings. For this reason, New Hampshire law recognizes that certain property is exempt from a creditor's attack." Debtor/Creditor chapter, section VII. Exempt Property.

603 Legal Aid. What to do if a Creditor Sues You for Debt
"The court cannot order you to pay a judgment from certain types of income. For example, if you have certain types of income and limited assets you may be “judgment proof.” That means that even if a creditor sues you and wins a judgment against you, a court CANNOT order you to pay the debt."
New Hampshire Judicial Branch. Notice of Protected Sources of Income
A list of income sources that cannot be used for periodic payments. Links to the laws referenced in the list are on the Read The Law About ... page

Collection Actions by Carolyn Carter, Jonathan Sheldon
Call Number: KF1024 .C37 2024
ISBN: 9781602482111
Publication Date: 2024
"Every state has a general exemption law that protects a variety of income and property from judgment creditors. In addition, many federal and state statutes that deal with a particular type of income or asset, such as Social Security benefits or state employees' pensions, include their own exemption provisions. Special exemption rules are also sometimes found in statutes dealing with certain types of debt, such as tax debts. The Bankruptcy Code provides a federal exemption scheme in bankruptcy for states that do not provide their own bankruptcy exemptions. ... A debtor who possesses only exempt assets is referred to as "judgment proof" or "collection proof."

American Law Reports (ALR)

The American Law Reports (ALR) articles in the following list are available on Westlaw. You can come into the library to access Westlaw on one of our public terminals, use the Westlaw remote access link (at the first link below), or visit one of our partner public libraries throughout New Hampshire (see Legal Research @ Your Public Library below).

Sign in to Westlaw Patron Access Remote for Pro Se/Non-Attorneys
Legal Research @ Your Public Library
2 A.L.R. 818. What are "tools," "implements," "instruments," "utensils," or "apparatus," within the meaning of debtor's exemption laws.
"The statutes exempting "tools," "implements," "instruments," and "utensils" vary widely in terms. In some statutes the exemption is without any qualification or condition; in others a qualification or condition appears. For example, the exemption may not be absolute, but may be of such tools, implements, etc., as may be necessary to the debtor or to his trade or profession."
37 A.L.R.2d 714. Exemption of motor vehicle from seizure for debt.
"[This ALR] is concerned with the question whether or not automobiles can successfully be claimed to be exempt from seizure, by any of the processes for satisfaction of debt, under the various exemption statutes which have been invoked by debtors for the purpose of claiming an automobile to be exempt. The term "motor vehicle" is defined to cover any kind of power-driven vehicle commonly used to transport people or things, including passenger automobiles, trucks, and tractor-trailers, but not including farming or construction machinery not narrowly designed for the purpose of transportation, as such."
41 A.L.R.3d 607. What is "necessary" furniture entitled to exemption from seizure for debt.
"This annotation collects the cases which have construed the term "necessary" as it has been employed in various statutes exempting from seizure, by any of the processes for the satisfaction of debt, necessary household furnishings, furniture, or specified articles of common household use or ornament."
44 A.L.R.6th 481. Jewelry and clothing as within debtor's exemptions under state statutes.
"The present annotation collects and discusses the state and federal cases in which the courts have considered what particular items are within the scope of state statutes exempting from execution or process for debt clothing or apparel, jewelry, and the like."

This site is maintained by the law librarians of the John W. King New Hampshire Law Library.
Our guides are for information purposes only and are not comprehensive.
They are intended as starting points for your legal research, to illustrate the various sources of the law, and to provide guidance in their use.
NH Law About ... is not a substitute for the services of an attorney.

Consumer Debt Collection Exemptions

Borrow Books

Subscription Databases

Read About The Law ...

State and Federal Resources

American Law Reports (ALR)